Global Update:

Bailey’s Blog

Happening This Week


Female Choreography Commissions, World Premieres, and Programming

Leadership Changes

For continual updates on leadership changes see Dance Data Project® – Artistic Director Transitions 2022 Spreadsheet

  • Royal Danish Ballet Artistic Director Announces Plans to Step Down
    • On May 2, 2024:  The Artistic Director of the Royal Danish Ballet, Nikolaj Hübbe (male), announced that he will step down at the end of his contract. A search for his successor has been announced and the new Artistic Director will take on the role effective August 2026. 

Artist Opportunities

This section focuses on new or upcoming deadlines for artist opportunities, in conjunction with our Fellowships, Competitions and Initiatives Guide. For a more comprehensive list of artist opportunities, please see the link above.  

Outstanding Artists (lighting, music, tech, design, etc.)

  • Sadler’s Wells Rose Prize & Bloom Prize Shortlist announced
    • Sadler’s Wells has announced the shortlist of artists in contention for the Rose Prize, a prize for established choreographers, and the Bloom Prize, a prize for emerging choreographers. Artists on the shortlist for the Rose Prize include Lia Rodrigues (female), Kyle Abraham (male), Marco da Silva Ferreira (male), and Christos Papadopoulos (male). Artists on the shortlist for the Bloom Prize include Stav Struz Boutrous (female), Leïla Ka (female), and Wang Yeu-Kwn (male).
  • 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway Announced
    • On May 5, 2024:  the 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards were announced. Winners for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway in choreography include Camille A. Brown (female) for her work with Hell’s Kitchen, Graciela Daniele (female) and Alex Sanchez (male) for their work with The Gardens of Anuncia, Patricia Delgado (female) and Justin Peck (male) for their work with Buena Vista Social Club, nicHi douglas (she/they/he/we) for their work with (pray), and Raja Feather Kelly (male) for his work with Teeth. 
  • Participating Artists Announced for UNCSA Choreographic Institute
    • UNCSA School of Dance has announced the artists chosen for the 2024 Choreographic Institute. The chosen artists include Asia Pyron (female), Danielle Swatzie (female), Annalee Traylor (female), and Anderson Souza (male).

*DDP utilizes multiple sources to inform Global Roundups. A comprehensive list of publications, subscriptions & sources can be found here